December 2016 – Working at Maison Ikkoku 

Maison Ikkoku. Cafe and bar. 3rd placing for best brunch restaurant 2016. 

I am proud to say that I was once a barista at Maison Ikkoku. I knew about Maison Ikkoku back in 2015 when my best friend, Sam, started working there. He introduced top baristas to me and help me increased my knowledge about coffee. It also perked my interest for coffee. I did not have the time to work in 2015 due to my studies but for 2016, after my A-Levels ended, I went for the interview to work there. My manager, Calvin, was awesome. He is one of the best managers that I have worked with so far. 

Sadly, while I was working at MI, I didn’t get the chance to work with Sam. However, I made afew other new (and lifelong) friends. Back at MI, it was the place where I could really experiement and learn more about coffee. 

I learned more about making latte art and brew methods such as V60 and Siphon. I really hope that I can get the chance to continue learning and developing my skills as a barista in the future. 

However, I am planning to work at Nylon Coffee Roasters if that is possible after I ORD from the Army.

I shall just do a short review about MI. They serve different menus on different days. Basically weekday and weekend menus. I do recommend their Tomyam pasta (my personal favourite). The shop is pretty small as well and the pathway is pretty small and squeezy. They have a toilet at the back as well. They do not have service charge at all so do go and order at the counter. Honestly, the standard of their coffee is dropping due to the lack of good quality beans thus the coffee may not be up to its past standards. They serve waffles with ice cream (I would totally recommend this). They have breakfast/brunch meals as well which is pretty filling despite its looks. Overall, I would give MI a rating of 7/10. 

Here’s the address: 20 Kandahar St, Singapore 198885 and their opening hours are 9am-7pm on Sunday-Thursday and 9am-9:30pm on Friday and Saturday. It is a little hard to find the shop at first as it is all the way at the back. The shop is a little small and it gets crowded at about 11am until 2pm, so go early if possible!

Leave a Reply

